Calzadilla to Leon

This morning as I was walking into Leon the largest city I will walk through on this Camino – I was taken with the idea that really we can walk anywhere. No need to pay for a bus or train – simply open the door and walk.

A long bridge outside of Leon.

Just then a man was coming towards me on the path, carrying something long and large on his shoulder. At first I thought it was a local person carrying a board. But as he got closer I could see it was a didjeridu – that instrument thing from Australia. He was walking away from Santiago but had a scallop shell indicating he was a pilgrim. Is he walking back to Australia?

The Camino and travel never fail to be interesting.

I am doing some much needed cleaning of clothes in a self serve lavarotorio. Thankfully there is a bar/cafe next door to watch some football replays and eat some chorizo.

Statue of the architect Gaudi in Leon

I have had a couple of hard physical days on the Camino, but every step is a gift and I am loving it. And of course there is always good coffee and jamon!

Interior of the León cathedral.

Leave a comment