Hospital to Astorga to Foncebadon

I buried the most important part of today, please scroll down or read until the end. Thank you.

For the first time on this Camino, from where I sit I can see far below, where I started walking this morning. I can also see a donkey.

The Meseta in the early morning

Since I started in Burgos the walking has been mostly flat, as I have been in what Spaniards call the Meseta. A flat fertile area that boasts a lot of wheat fields. Some pilgrims do not enjoy this part of the Camino, as villages are far apart. I can imagine especially in the summer, it must be hot and dreary.

But some enjoy the contemplative time absent of distractions. I am one of those people. But to be honest I spent most of today’s contemplative time, repeating my two new favorite Spanish words, la puente and la puerta. I am just not that deep.

Common way to lure a pilgrim

Yesterday’s walk was flat-ish between Hospital De Orbigo (with the great puente coming into town) and Astorga. Astorga is a small town of about 12,000 people. It has a lovely cathedral and even better, a Gaudi designed Bishop’s palace. I really enjoyed Astorga and could see going back some day.

Bishop’s Palace – Gaudi

Now I sit in the mountain town of Foncebadon (population 18) which is putting up a good fight for my pick of Camino town of the trip. It has that mountain lodge feeling to it, with big thick stone walled buildings. Plus I have this wonderful view of the Meseta in the distance, and Astorga far off as well. Now the donkey is braying, you can’t beat this town for view and atmosphere.

Camino pilgrim laundry

It was a good climb to get here. I think we gained about 2400 feet. No switchbacks so head down, “la puente” huff huff “la puerta” huff huff. Can anyone tell me the Seinfeld episode where La puerta was a key plot point?

But today was all about this church. Not only is it beautiful, it is committed to helping women and girls who have been oppressed or victimized around the world. I spent a lot of time today thinking about that.

4 thoughts on “Hospital to Astorga to Foncebadon

  1. I love all your photos, but I especially love the one of the clothes on the clothesline. It really gives a sense of place.

    Please say hello for me to all the braying donkeys and kitties.

    Like

  2. Hi, Amy: Finally got access to your site! I’m so excited for you and inspired by your journey. We had put a deposit down to do this with friends in 2020, but alas the world had other plans. Still on our list. For now, I will live vicariously through you, and am so very grateful you are sharing your journey with us.

    Please be well!

    Love and hugs
    Lori

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So awesome; love the clothesline- as already said « such a sense of place » beautiful photo in both its unifying experience and unique presence on the pilgrimmage.

    Like

Leave a comment