Santiago at last

Yay Santiago!

It has been such an eventful few days, it’s hard to know where to start. We (Judit and I and the other familiar pergrinos) walked into Santiago yesterday, October 18, and that already seems so long ago.

Despite all the changes in the world since my last visit here, some things remain the same.

Arriving is a great joy. A few tears as we walked into the Praza de Obradoiro in front of the cathedral. Then looking around and seeing many familiar faces, and new ones too. Hugs to those we recognize. In another life you would never dare walk up to a sort of stranger and give them a hug. But we all share this very special moment like giddy school children.

Judit and I and the cathedral

Just hours earlier we were smelly and hungry, trudging our way towards this city. I won’t question whether St. James’ bones are in the crypt of the cathedral. I do know that thousands of pilgrims have walked before me, have gone through the same hardships, the same painful feet, the long miles, and the hungry stomachs.

Walking into Santiago is always special

For a few weeks we have all forgotten about COVID, work, family struggles, health issues, money problems, and all the other things that we burden ourselves with. We found a routine – wake up, pack up and boots on, cafe con leche, walk, cafe con leche, walk, cold drink and maybe some lunch, walk, new town, shower, laundry, a cold drink or two, dinner with new friends, sleep. Repeat as needed until your soul is complete.

I won’t know what this Camino means for a while. Maybe when I get home, maybe years from now. Right now I am grasping on to the last precious moments with my new friends Judit, Kaitlyn and others. I am so grateful our paths have crossed in this special place called Camino.

Arrival

One thought on “Santiago at last

Leave a comment