To Triacastela and beyond…

O’ Cebreiro church

I just walked 18-19 miles, gaining about 3,200 feet and then descending sharply about the same elevation. I have had nothing to eat except a small slice of gingerbread when I got my first cafe con leche of the day.

But right now eating takes second fiddle to doing some much needed laundry. By the sweet mercy of the Camino Gods, the albuergue I am at has a washer and dryer. For 7 euros I will finally have clean clothes. Properly clean, not washed in the shower as I attempt to clean myself and my hiking clothes of the day.

So no food just yet.

For some reason on the most challenging days, is when I feel closest to the spiritual experience the Camino is known for. I cried twice today and I never cry. I left Las Herreiras in pitch black… alone.. just me, the stars and my iPhone flashlight.

The trail soon started ascending and was very steep. I was working hard, and feeling a bit nervous being in the dark, in this forested area all by myself. It was a very lonely moment. Just then I heard an owl, who kept hooting for the next 30 minutes and I figured, that must be mom letting me know I wasn’t alone.

In Galicia, again

About an hour in, I reached a small village where a small black kitten gave me some love and purring, while I sat and took a break. Then as dawn progressed, I could see that the elevation gain had put me on top of a beautiful and special place.

Yes it has been a long and hard day but I made it to a very nice Camino town – Triacastela. The albuergue women have been very nice to me, and got me a Coke while I did laundry. Tonight I will have dinner with Judit and Kaitlyn, our last night together for the three of us. It has been a very special Camino day and one I think I will remember for a long time.

Dinner with Judit and Kaitlyn

2 thoughts on “To Triacastela and beyond…

  1. Amy!! I am so enthralled with your posts sharing your amazing journey. What a display of fortitude and sense of adventure…. I am in awe (but, not surprised)!
    Also, I was not aware that your Mom passed, and am very saddened by the news. I have many fond memories from the Thanksgiving holidays I would spend with you and your family in Pahoa. I have no doubt she is with you on this trip. By the way, you have a very strong resemblance to her, which is a heartfelt compliment.
    Much love to you….stay safe!

    Like

Leave a comment