Walking Sticks no more

Elena, me, Judit and Kaitlyn

We are now about 4 days and 100 kilometers from Santiago. I cannot believe we are this close to the end. 400 kilometers down only 100 to go.

I have spent the last two days with Judit and Kaitlyn who both have walked from St. Jean Pied de Port in France, so they started 690 kilometers away. We have become great Camino friends!

I think we are all facing the end of our respective Camino’s with a bit of trepidation. We are ready to give our legs a break, but we are not prepared to give up this Camino life.

A pilgrim emerges

Today I gave away my walking poles. I bought them in Burgos and they had hard tips, so made a horrible clacking sound, which I hated. Plus I don’t use them well. I stab at the ground as if I were on a highway shoulder with an orange vest poking at fast food wrappers. So I left them at the albuergue in Triacastela for a more skilled pilgrim.

Camino blessings came today in the form of a beautiful sanctuary between Triacastela and Sarria. It was a walled in area with an entrance to a beautiful courtyard area. The courtyard was full of signs and tokens to encourage pilgrims. There was an old wooden table laden with fruit, cookies, juice, eggs, tons of food – all free.

Kaitlyn in the tranquil shell garden

When we saw the owner, we all commented “this is beautiful”, he replied “you are beautiful”.

We walked a labyrinth there and read the many beautiful sayings posted around. It was a very special place, which Judit, Kaitlyn and I all thought might be the highlight of our Camino’s. As we were leaving, there was a wooden walking stick leaning against the stone wall. The owner asked me if I would like it and I said “yes”. He said one of his neighbors makes them for peregrinos (pilgrims) who might need them.

Heading into the labyrinth. (Photo thanks to Kaitlyn)

I love my new walking stick, I now walk the Camino like an English poet, who is sauntering the countryside looking for creative inspiration. It’s perfect. And today has been a perfect Camino day.

One thought on “Walking Sticks no more

Leave a comment